Editorial Independence

dot.LA maintains a firewall between our news coverage decisions and all sources of revenue. This separation ensures that financial support does not present a conflict of interest for our journalism or compromise our editorial independence.

Investments, grants, and sponsorships from individuals and organizations help to fund our journalism, but our news judgments are made independently and not on the basis of funding support. Acceptance of investment does not constitute implied or actual endorsement of investors or their positions.

dot.LA may accept funding for reporting on particular topics. Our editorial staff determines what those topics are and retains full editorial control of the resulting coverage.

Individual dot.LA journalists do not accept gifts or favors of more than nominal value, nor any special treatment, from any person or entity that is or could be a subject of or source for our coverage, or otherwise have an interest in our reporting. Members of our newsroom shun secondary employment, political involvement, public office and service in community organizations if they create a conflict of interest or compromise journalistic independence and integrity.

We require all of our investors to make this pledge. They include:

Venture capital firms and their investing partners at: 3L, Act One, Anthos, CAVU, Comcast Ventures, Crosscut, Greycroft, Hawke Media Ventures, K5, March Capital, Maveron, m13, Mucker, NFX, Pelion, Thrive Capital, Torch Capital, Troy Capital, Upfront Ventures, Watertower Ventures and Waverley Capital

Companies such as GeekWire, Jam City, the Los Angeles Dodgers, Perkins Coie, Safire Partners, and Snap, Inc.

Executives including David Bonderman (TPG), Adam Friedman (CAA), Brad Gerstner (Altimeter), Rick Hess (Evolution Media), Gabe Greenbaum (Pritzker), Todd Lemkin (Canyon Partners), Navid Mahmoodzadegan (Moelis), Mark Mullen (Bonfire), Chris Ovitz (Future Positive), Danny Passman (Gang, Tyre, Ramer, Brown & Passman), Karl Peterson (TPG), Brad Ramberg (Beachbody, Idealab), Avery Rosin (Lead Edge), Elie Seidman (Tinder), Sukhinder Singh (Stubhub), Jeff Stibel (Bryant Stibel), Brendan Wallace (Fifth Wall), Brian Weinstein (Bad Robot), Jeff Wilke (Amazon), Josh Yguado (Jam City), and Jeremy Zimmer (UTA)

Entrepreneurs including Austin Allison (dotloop), Allison Checchi (Atom Tickets), Dick Costolo (Twitter), Michael Dubin (Dollar Shave Club), Rand Fishkin (SparkToro), Brad Inman (Inman News), Ross Hoffman (Headspace, Twitter), Todd Jackson (Dropbox), Josh Jones (HMC INQ), Jeff Kearl (Stance, SkullCandy), Brian Lee (BAM Ventures), Paul Levine (Sapphire Ventures), Eddy Lu (GOAT), Adam Miller (Cornerstone OnDemand), Jane Park (Tokki, Julep), Sean Rad (Tinder), JJ Ramberg (NBC News, Goodshop, Goodpods), Ken Ramberg (JOBTRAK, Goodshop, Goodpods), Keith Richman (Voi), Michael Stoppelman (Yelp), Sam Teller (Tesla, SpaceX), Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks) and musician Ciara.

Our co-founder, Spencer Rascoff, also has invested in the following companies:

  • 6tudio
  • Accolade
  • Airbnb
  • AirVet
  • AllVoices
  • Aspiration
  • Behold
  • Block
  • Boosted Commerce
  • ButterflyMX
  • Cameo
  • Canopy Space
  • Carta
  • Chairish
  • Community
  • Earn Cheese
  • Encantos
  • Envested
  • Fair
  • Fernish
  • Flowspace
  • Gettacar
  • Goldin Auctions
  • Grove
  • Interlace
  • John Elliott
  • Junk Theory
  • La Haus
  • Liftopia
  • MarketerHire
  • MaxQ AI
  • Memmo
  • MOD Pizza
  • Mojo Sports
  • Monthly
  • Morphin
  • NextCar
  • Oooh
  • Openmind Learning
  • Palantir Technologies
  • Parade
  • PocketList
  • pro.com
  • Intro
  • Relativity Space
  • Robin Golf
  • Robinhood
  • Route App
  • Roxy EP
  • Runway (CFO.AI)
  • Sensible Weather
  • Service Labs
  • Sike Insights
  • SmartFoam
  • Sonic Energy
  • SpaceX
  • SparkToro
  • Speechify
  • Squad
  • Stack Overflow
  • ThenBet
  • Thread Together
  • Tomo Networks
  • Topography Health
  • Turnkey
  • Uraniom
  • View the Space
  • VOI Technology
  • WaveXR
  • X-Claim
  • Xembly
  • Xpeng
  • Zeitworks
Last updated: April 2021

Subscribe to our newsletter to catch every headline.